Editorial Daniel Ott and Manos Tsangaris

The Munich Biennale is worldwide the only festival that exclusively features world premieres of new music theater works. It opens up multifarious opportunities for young composers to experiment with their artistic projects on the highest level.

When Dr. Hans-Georg Küppers, the director of the Department of Arts and Culture of the City of Munich, inquired as to whether, starting in 2016, we would be interested in assuming the positions of artistic directors of this special festival, we were not only surprised and extremely pleased in view of the wonderful perspectives, we immediately comprehended the trust placed in us as a challenge to continue the extraordinarily successful history of the last decades and to further develop the new contextual and formal dimensions. After Hans-Werner Henze and Peter Ruzicka, once again two composers were offered the positions, which speaks for the special interest the City of Munich has in this festival.

To us, music theater is more than just a genre-related, sensual amusement. The classic term "composition" has been expanded. And for very good and comprehensible reasons. Our life-immanent relationships, especially in regards to aesthetic and formal frameworks, support one another, disregarding initially the dramatic political changes. How do the arts react? Or better yet: how do they act?! Because in a pilot project, apparently only beholden to truth and beauty, that which will be invented, experimentally deepened, and attempted very soon finds itself - frequently under different names and masks - in entirely different social correlations, not least in advertising, films, and everyday communications and media. But also where news is conveyed and opinions are formed. To us, this means to open up and protect art spaces as places for research. The expanded term "composition" encompasses very different formats. From new opera to scenic installation, from minimalized artistic intervention in municipal spaces to composed performance, just to name a few. This spectrum forms a space that reflects and artistically intensifies our social "multilingualism" and everyday media polyphony. This resulted in new music theater becoming an open field, which can illuminate social and also political issues under special conditions.

We had decided from the beginning to make the Munich Biennale once again primarily a forum for young artists and newcomers. The average age of the artists is approximately 30. In order to open up new paths for young artists, starting in 2013 we organized so-called international platforms, at first in Munich and then also with international partners worldwide, for example in Athens; Buenos Aires; Beijing; Shanghai; Rotterdam; and other cities. Here selected young artists from different disciplines, in other words, not just composers, but also set designers; authors; directors; video artists; performers; etc., come together to discuss certain subjects and questions, they get to know one another and their works, and in the end they form teams that will pursue together their respective projects over the course of the following months and years. To us, team work is just as important as when the individual artist concentrates at a desk or in a workplace; the artistic trades meet eye-to-eye and get involved from the beginning in productive discussions.

In the second edition of our festival we will examine the term "private matter" with the methods of observation and expression specialized in abstraction and sensualization. Whereas the fine arts, cinema, documentary film, literature, and acting in many locations deal intensively with this subject, up to now original projects in contemporary music theater dealing with the rich impact of the metamorphosis of "private matters" have to be searched for with a magnifying glass.

Starting with the question of whether a recall of a "private matter" still seems possible or desirable, or whether the unbridled publication of everything that is personal requires previously unknown protective spaces, the fifteen world premieres will deal with the technological, sociological, psychological, and historical aspects of the subject, and in particular also with the tonal, performative, and aesthetic facets of the questions that are posed. The developed formats and works promise to provide new perspectives on the definition and experience of "private matters," as well as surprising developments regarding the invention, publication, and reception of contemporary music theater.

Following the edition in 2016 that was concentrated in a relatively small area, the Munich Biennale 2018 can be experienced at different locations. In addition to our "traditional performance venues" at Muffatwerk and the Gasteig Cultural Center, we will also be showing our productions this time at Marstall (Residenztheater); Schwere Reiter; Villa Waldberta at Lake Starnberg; Einstein-Hallen, white-Box; in municipal spaces (Max-Joseph-Platz); and in five private apartments in Munich.

The publicist and cultural theorist Navid Kermani will reflect (accompanied by Manos Tsangaris) on the festival in his daily "Salon of Wondering and Responsibilities" in conversations with surprise guests. On the second weekend of the festival the American urban sociologist Saskia Sassen, the Austrian author Marlene Streeruwitz, and the American architect Daniel Libeskind will explore further aspects and perspectives regarding the issues of the changes in "private matters."

It is our hope and desire that the Munich Biennale, as a unique international festival of new music theater, will continue to be able to - in an intense form - stimulate and quicken the practice and lively discussion of contemporary music theater, and that as many visitors as possible will experience the diversity and quality of the artistic spectrum offered, and that, last but not least, the participating artists will also receive stimulation, support, and motivation for their research activities.

Daniel Ott, Manos Tsangaris
February 2018

Privatsache

Editorial Daniel Ott und Manos Tsangaris

Die Münchener Biennale ist weltweit das einzige Festival, das ausschließlich Uraufführungen von Werken des neuen Musiktheaters zeigt. Sie eröffnet jungen Komponisten und Komponistinnen vielfältige Möglichkeiten ihre künstlerischen Vorhaben auf höchstem Niveau auszuprobieren.

Als uns der Kulturreferent der Stadt München, Dr. Hans-Georg Küppers, fragte, ob wir Interesse hätten, ab 2016 die künstlerische Leitung dieses besonderen Festivals zu übernehmen, waren wir nicht nur überrascht und hoch erfreut ob der wunderbaren Aussichten, sondern haben das uns entgegengebrachte Vertrauen sofort als eine Aufforderung verstanden, die außergewöhnlich erfolgreiche Geschichte der letzten Jahrzehnte hin zu neuen inhaltlichen und formalen Dimensionen weiterzudenken. Nach Hans-Werner Henze und Peter Ruzicka wurden wieder zwei Komponisten gefragt, das spricht für das besondere Interesse der Stadt München an diesem Festival.

Musiktheater ist für uns mehr als nur ein genrebezogenes, sinnliches Vergnügen. Der klassische Kompositionsbegriff hat sich erweitert. Und das aus gut nachvollziehbaren Gründen. Unsere lebensweltlichen Verhältnisse, gerade was ästhetische und formale Rahmensetzungen angeht, überstürzen sich, von den gravierenden politischen Veränderungen zunächst einmal abgesehen. Wie reagieren die Künste? Oder besser noch: wie agieren sie! Denn das, was im Modellversuch, scheinbar nur dem Wahren und Schönen verpflichtet, erfunden, experimentell verdichtet und ausprobiert wird, findet sich, oft unter anderen Namen und Masken, bald in ganz anderen gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhängen wieder, nicht zuletzt in Werbung, Film, Kommunikations- und Medienpraxis. Aber auch dort, wo Nachrichten übermittelt und Meinungen geformt werden. Für uns bedeutet es, den Kunstraum als Forschungsstätte zu öffnen und zu schützen. Der erweiterte Kompositions-Begriff schließt sehr unterschiedliche Formate ein. Von neuer Oper bis szenischer Installation, von minimalisierter künstlerischer Intervention im Stadtraum zu komponierter Performance, um nur einige zu nennen. Dieses Spektrum bildet einen Raum, der unsere gesellschaftliche "Vielsprachigkeit", die alltägliche mediale Polyphonie künstlerisch zuspitzt und reflektiert. Von daher ist neues Musiktheater ein offenes Feld geworden, das gesellschaftliche und auch politische Fragestellungen unter besonderen Bedingungen ausleuchten kann.

Von Anfang an hatten wir beschlossen, die Münchener Biennale in erster Linie wieder zu einem Nachwuchsforum zu machen. Das Durchschnittsalter der Künstlerinnen und Künstler liegt etwa um die 30 Jahre. Um den jungen Kunstschaffenden neue Wege zu öffnen, haben wir ab 2013 zunächst in München, dann aber auch mit internationalen Partnern weltweit so genannte Internationale Biennale Plattformen durchgeführt, beispielsweise in Athen, Buenos Aires, Beijing, Shanghai, Rotterdam u.a.. Hierbei treffen ausgewählte junge Kunstschaffende aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen, also nicht nur Komponist_innen, sondern auch Bühnenbildner_innen, Autoren_innen, Regisseur_innen, Video-Künstler_innen, Performer_innen usw. zu bestimmten Themen-und Fragestellungen aufeinander, lernen sich und ihre Arbeiten gegenseitig kennen und bilden schließlich Arbeitsteams, die ihre jeweiligen Projekte in den nächsten Monaten und Jahren gemeinsam verfolgen. Teamarbeit ist uns genauso wichtig wie die individuell-künstlerische Konzentration am Arbeitstisch, die künstlerischen Gewerke begegnen einander auf Augenhöhe und gehen von Anfang an produktive Auseinandersetzungen ein.

In der zweiten Ausgabe unseres Festivals untersuchen wir mit den auf Abstraktion und Versinnlichung spezialisierten Betrachtungs- und Ausdrucksweisen des Künstlerischen den Begriff der "Privatsache". Während sich bildende Kunst, Kino, Dokumentarfilm, Literatur und Schauspiel vielerorts intensiv mit der Thematik auseinandersetzen, müssen originäre Projekte zur auswirkungsreichen Metamorphose der "Privatsache" im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters bisher mit der Lupe gesucht werden.

Ausgehend von der Frage, ob eine Rückholaktion der "Privatsache" noch möglich bzw. wünschenswert erscheint, oder die ungebremste Veröffentlichung alles Persönlichen die Erfindung bisher unbekannter Schutzräume erfordert, beschäftigen sich 15 Uraufführungen mit technologischen, soziologischen, psychologischen und historischen Aspekten des Themas aber vor allem auch mit den klanglichen, performativen und ästhetischen Seiten der aufgeworfenen Fragestellung. Die entwickelten Formate und Werke versprechen neue Perspektiven auf die Definition und das Erleben von "Privatsachen" sowie überraschende Entwicklungen hinsichtlich der Erfindung, Veröffentlichung und Rezeption zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters.

Die Münchener Biennale 2018 wird nach der räumlich konzentrierten Ausgabe 2016 an vielen verschiedenen Orten zu erleben sein. Neben unseren "Traditionsspielstätten" im Muffatwerk und Gasteig zeigen wir unsere Produktionen diesmal auch im Marstall des Residenztheaters, im Schwere Reiter, in der Villa Waldberta am Starnberger See, in den Einstein-Hallen, in der white-Box und im Öffentlichen Raum (Max-Joseph-Platz) sowie in fünf Münchner Privatwohnungen.

Der Publizist und Kulturtheoretiker Navid Kermani wird (begleitet von Manos Tsangaris) das Festival in seinem täglichen "Salon des Wunderns und der Pflichten" im Gespräch mit überraschenden Gästen reflektieren. Am zweiten Wochenende des Festivalzeitraums leuchten die amerikanische Stadtsoziologin Saskia Sassen, die österreichische Schriftstellerin Marlene Streeruwitz und der amerikanische Architekt Daniel Libeskind weitere Aspekte und Perspektiven auf Fragen nach sich verändernden "Privatsachen" aus.

Wir hoffen und wünschen uns, dass die Münchener Biennale als international einzigartiges Festival für neues Musiktheater weiterhin und in intensiver Form die Praxis und den lebendigen Diskurs des zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters befruchten und beflügeln kann, dass möglichst viele Zuschauerinnen und Zuschauer die Vielfalt und Qualität des künstlerischen Angebots wahrnehmen und dass nicht zuletzt auch die beteiligten Künstler_innen in ihrer forschenden Tätigkeit gefördert, angeregt und unterstützt werden.

Daniel Ott, Manos Tsangaris
Februar 2018

Privatsache